Find your ancestors in Leighlin Administrations 1700-1857

When a person died, prior to 1858, without a will their affairs had to be settled by their next of kin or his principal creditor in the Diocesan or Prerogative Courts. Before the Bishop granted the administration, the administrator was required to enter into a bond of a specified sum as security that they would justly administer the effects.

This Index includes:

  • Name and address of the deceased
  • Year in which the administration was granted

The Index to Leighlin Administrations cover the period from 1700-1857. They are extremely useful for those researching their Irish family history with ancestors from counties Carlow, Laois (Queen’s County), Wicklow and Kilkenny.

The Leighlin Diocese includes the towns of:

  • Carlow
  • Tullow
  • Abbeyleix
  • Mountrath
  • Maryborough
  • Balitinglass
  • as well as over 90 civil parishes and smaller towns.    

The original bonds were destroyed in the Public Record Office fire of 1922, consequently all that survives is the index.