Find your ancestors in South Australia, Commonwealth Electoral Rolls 1939-1943


Electoral rolls are the nearest thing Australians have to census records, and hence are extremely useful genealogy tools for local, family and social historians. They're one of the best ways to explore your family history and are essential in building a family tree.

"What will I find in these census records?"

This data set contains the census records for three separate years - 1939, 1941 & 1943 - for the following South Australian regions: Barker, Boothby, Grey, Hindmarsh & Wakefield.

Entries are arranged alphabetically within each subdivision. You will find the details of tens of thousands of voters who resided in South Australia at this time, and who were entitled (and registered) to vote. Importantly, the roll includes the names of many women qualified to vote for the election of members of the Commonwealth and State Assembly of South Australia.

"What information on my ancestors can I find in these rolls?"

The following information is included for many (but not all) entries:

No. on Roll
Christian name and surname in full
Place of living
Commonwealth Division, State Assembly District and the Subdivision



The electoral subdivisions of Barker covered by this dataset are: Bordertown, Clarendon, Glenelg, Kingscote, Kingston, Lameroo, Loxton, Mannum, Meningie, Millicent, Morphett Vale, Mount Barker, Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge, Naracoorte, Penola, Strathalbyn, Tailem Bend, Victor Harbor, Waikerie and Willunga.


The electoral subdivisions of Boothby covered by this dataset are: Burnside, Edwardstown, Goodwood, Magill, Mitcham, Plympton and Unley.


The electoral subdivisions of Grey covered by this collection are: Brinkworth, Bute, Cowell, Crystal Brook, Elliston, Fowler’s Bay, Gladstone, Jamestown, Maitland, Melrose, Minlaton, Port Augusta, Port Germein, Port Lincoln, Port Pirie, Snowtown, Streaky Bay, Tarcoola, Tumby Bay, Wallaroo, Whyalla, Willochra and Yorketown.


The electoral subdivisions of Hindmarsh covered by this collection are: Albert Park, Hindmarsh, Lockleys, Port Adelaide, Semaphore and Thebarton.


The electoral subdivisions of Wakefield covered by this dataset are: Angaston, Balaklava, Beltana, Blyth, Carrieton, Clare, Cockburn, Eudunda, Gawler, Gumeracha, Hawker, Kapunda, Kooringa, Marree, Mount Pleasant, Northfield, Norton's Summit, Orroroo, Peterborough, Renmark, Riverton, Saddleworth, Salisbury, Spalding, Terowie, Truro, Two Wells and Woodside.

This collection contains high quality scanned images of the original book, and has been
bookmarked for easy navigation.

Did your ancestors serve in the military? Don't forget to search our extensive Armed Forces & Conflicts Records