Find your ancestors in Victoria, Electoral Rolls 1939 - 1946


Electoral rolls are the nearest thing Australians have to census records, and hence are extremely important genealogy tools for local, family and social historians exploring ancestry. They're also an absolute must for anyone building their family tree!

What you'll find in these records:

Included are the rolls for two years, 1939 and 1946, for the following Victorian regions: Balaclava, Ballarat, Batman, Bendigo, Bourke, Corangamite, Corio, Deakin, Fawkner, Flinders, Gippsland, Henty, Indi, Kooyong, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Melbourne Ports, Wannon, Wimmera and Yarra.

Entries are arranged alphabetically within each subdivision. You will find the details of tens of thousands of voters who resided in Victoria at this time, and who were entitled (and registered) to vote. Importantly, the roll includes the names of many women qualified to vote for the election of members of the Commonwealth parliament.

"What information on my ancestors will I find in these rolls?"

The following information is included for many (but not all) entries:
No. on Roll
Name in full
Place of living
Commonwealth Division and Subdivision, State Assembly District


The electoral subdivisions of Balaclava covered are: Brighton, Caulfield, Caulfield West, Elsternwick and St Kilda.

The electoral subdivisions of Ballaarat covered by this collection are: Bacchus Marsh, Ballaarat, Ballaarat East, Ballaarat North, Ballaarat West, Ballan, Castlemaine, Creswick, Daylesford, Gong Gong, Kyneton, Learmonth, Meredith, Mount Pleasant, Sebastopol, Soldiers’ Hill, Warrenheip, and Woodend.

The electoral subdivisions of Batman covered by this collection are: Alphington, Fitzroy North, Northcote, Preston, Preston East, and Westgarth.

The electoral subdivisions of Bendigo covered by this collection are: Bendigo, Charlton, Cohuna, Dunolly, Eaglehawk, Echuca, Elmore, Golden Square, Heathcote, Inglewood, Lancefield, Marong, Mitiamo, Murchison, Pyramid Hill, Raywood, Rochester, Rushworth, Sandhurst East, Strathfieldsaye, and Wedderburn.

The electoral subdivisions of Bourke covered by this collection are: Blyth, Brunswick South, Brunswick West, Coburg, Edward, and Mitchell.

The electoral subdivisions of Corangamite covered by this collection are: Allansford, Ararat, Avoca, Bannockburn, Beaufort, Beeac, Beech Forest, Birregurra, Camperdown, Carisbrook, Clunes, Cobden, Colac, Krambruk, Landsborough, Linton, Maldon, Maryborough, Mortlake, Penshurst, Port Campbell, Smythesdale, Terang, and Willaura.

The electoral subdivisions of Corio covered by this collection are: Altona, Broadmeadows, Drysdale, Essendon North, Fawkner, Geelong, Geelong North, Geelong West, Gisborne, Newtown and Chilwell, Queenscliff, Sunbury, Sunshine, and Werribee.

The electoral subdivisions of Deakin covered by this collection are: Alexandra, Avenel, Box Hill, Box Hill South, Croydon, Diamond Creek, Doncaster, Healesville, Heidelberg, Ivanhoe, Kangaroo Ground, Kilmore, Lilydale, Mansfield, Mitcham, Ringwood, Seymour, Surrey Hills, Warburton, and Yea.

The electoral subdivisions of Fawkner covered by this collection are: Armadale, Darling, Malvern, Prahran, St Kilda North, South Yarra, and Toorak.

The electoral subdivisions of Flinders covered by this collection are: Berwick, Burwood, Burwood South, Carrum, Cranbourne, Dandenong, Dromana, Drouin, Ferntree Gully, Frankston, Kooweerup, Loch, Mentone, Oakleigh East, Pakenham, and Warragul.

The electoral subdivisions of Gippsland covered by this collection are: Bairnsdale, Bruthen, Foster, Korumburra, Leongatha, Lindenow, Lucknow, Maffra, Morwell, Neerim South, Omeo, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Toongabbie, Trafalgar, Traralgon, Walhalla, Wonthaggi, Yallourn, and Yarram.

The electoral subdivisions of Henty covered by this collection are: Bentleigh, Caulfield East, Cheltenham, Glenhuntly, Hampton, Malvern East, Malvern South, Oakleigh, and Sandringham.

The electoral subdivisions of Indi covered by this collection are: Beechworth, Benalla, Chiltern, Cobram, Corryong, Euroa, Kyabram, Moyhu, Nagambie, Nathalia, Numurkah, Ovens, Rutherglen, Shepparton, Tallangatta, Tatura, Tungamah, Violet Town, Wangaratta, Wodonga, Yackandandah, and Yarrawonga.

The electoral subdivisions of Kooyong covered by this collection are: Auburn, Balwyn, Camberwell, Canterbury, Deepdene, Glen Iris, Kew, and Kew North.

The electoral subdivisions of Maribyrnong covered by this collection are: Ascot Vale, Essendon, Footscray, Footscray North, Footscray South, Kingsville, Moonee Ponds, and Yarraville.

The electoral subdivisions of Melbourne covered by this collection are: Carlton, Carlton South, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Newmarket, North Melbourne, and Parkville.

The electoral subdivisions of Melbourne Ports covered by this collection are: Albert Park, Newport, Port Melbourne, St Kilda West, South Melbourne, and Williamstown.

The electoral subdivisions of Wannon covered by this collection are: Branxholme, Casterton, Dimboola, Goroke, Hamilton, Harrow, Horsham, Horsham South, Jeparit, Kaniva, Koroit, Murtoa, Nhill, Port Fairy, Portland, Stawell, and Warrnambool.

The electoral subdivisions of Wimmera covered by this collection are: Birchip, Boort, Donald, Hopetoun, Kerang, Mildura, Minyip, Ouyen, Quambatook, Rainbow, St Arnaud, Sea Lake, Swan Hill, Ultima, Warracknabeal, and Wycheproof.

The electoral subdivisions of Yarra covered by this collection are: Abbotsford, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, Hawthorn, and Richmond.

Where applicable, each roll also lists the particulars regarding electors enrolled by virtue of a property qualification as electors for the State Assembly only.

Did your ancestors serve in the military? Don't forget to search our extensive Armed Forces & Conflicts Records