Find your ancestors in Kent, Canterbury Archdeaconry burials - Chilham, Stalisfield, & Staple


There are both transcripts and images of the original burial registers within these records. While the amount of information provided varies, most transcripts will include the following:

  • First name(s)
  • Last name
  • Birth year
  • Death year
  • Age
  • Burial date
  • Burial place
  • County

    The images of the original registers will sometimes provide additional information, such as spouses’ and fathers’ names.

    Before 1841, the diocese of Canterbury had only one archdeaconry, Canterbury. The diocese was divided into two archdeaconries after 1841: Canterbury in the east and Maidstone in the west. In 2011, the Archdeaconry of Ashford was created and the archdeaconry boundaries were redrawn accordingly.

    The records include all parishes which are within the Archdeaconry of Canterbury and consented to online publication. Please note that four parishes withheld consent for publishing images of their records, therefore, where provided, you will only be able to search transcripts of their records: Cheriton St Martin, Harbledown St Michael, Ramsgate St Luke, and Shepherdswell (also known as Sibertswold) St Andrew. Original records for each of these four parishes can be consulted on microfilm at Canterbury Cathedral Archives.

    Three ancient Thanet parishes can be found under the names St John in Thanet, St Lawrence in Thanet, and St Peter in Thanet (rather than under Margate, Ramsgate, and Broadstairs respectively).

    For data protection and personal privacy, there is a 25-year cut-off for publishing burial records.

    We are pleased to be working in association with Canterbury Cathedral Archives to bring you this important resource for researching your Kent ancestors.